Shinjyuku Gyoen National Garden

On Tuesday, our last day in Tokyo, Christopher wanted to take us to the Shinjyuku National Garden. This is picked up from the Web site:  Shinjuku Gyoen was constructed on the site of a private mansion belonging to Lord Naito, a “daimyo”(feudal lord) of the Edo era. Completed in 1906 as an imperial garden, it was re-designated as a national garden after the Second World War and opened to the public. With 58.3 ha(144 acres) in size and a circumference of 3.5 km, it blends three distinct styles, French Formal Garden, English Landscape Garden and Japanese Traditional Garden, and is considered to be one of the most important gardens from the Meiji era.

Although it is, of course, still winter, we were able to see some cherry blossoms blooming. I was starting to experience a miserable toothache due to a loosening temporary crown, but fortunately, the waves of pain came and went. I had to dump my hot coffee as anything hot sent me through the roof. I sucked it up though because I did not want to miss a minute of time with the boys.

Here are some pics of the park. I think it was another place that was rebuilt after being destroyed in the air raids on Tokyo in WWII right before the surrender (by the U.S., which is why we did not need to obliterate civilians in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in those horrific attacks). Even in winter the park has a stark beauty.

DSCN0989

DSCN0981

DSCN0982

DSCN0983

DSCN0987

DSCN0989

DSCN0990

DSCN0991

DSCN0993

KACB

DSCN0994

DSCN0995

DSCN0996

DSCN0999

DSCN1003

DSCN1004

DSCN1006

DSCN1007

DSCN1008

DSCN1010

After the garden, Kyle had to stop once more for a game of Groove Coaster, while Chris and I waited. Due to something that got under my temporary crown, I was in terrible tooth pain here, and the selfie makes my face look fat! I wasn’t sure if I’d even be able to eat, but the pain magically subsided when we got to the sushi restaurant. Thank god.

DSCN1012

Leave a Reply

